Richard Billingham

Sometimes when researching a photographers work you discover a connection to another.  I’m fascinated by photographers who’ve successfully carried out projects in and around the Black Country.  I was born in the black country and although my upbringing wasn’t stereotypical, I was exposed to certain associated attributes.  Whilst researching Martin Parrs work I came across his ‘black country stories’ series.  One photograph from this series that stood out for me was a father and son inside a factory in Cradley Heath.  I then looked at other projects carried out in Cradley heath and came across Richard Billingham.

Richard Billingham grew up in Cradley Heath with his parents, Raymond ‘Ray’, a chronic alcoholic and Elizabeth ‘Liz’, an obese chain smoker.  A book was released ‘Ray’s a laugh’ by Billingham chronicling his family life in photographs.  It’s a family album thats frank and honest and unlike others shows the good and the bad in a very matter of fact way.  Even at the young age of 19, Billingham had the foresight to document his family life exactly as it is, warts and all.

cat ray in toileyt ray beer ray and liz argue ray and jason liz shopping liz feet liz and ray dinner liz kiss

Although the idea of photographing Ray came out of a college project Billingham couldn’t have known the importance of his photographs until later.  When you look at the compositions they are awkward but this is over shadowed by the story they’re telling.  In the photo of Liz stretched out on the sofa the angle is incredibly unflattering which in this instance works very well.

Some of the photos are quite tense.  the one of Liz standing next to Ray with her fist clenched, Ray occupies such a small area of the frame with his face quite close to the edge and instantly evokes a feeling of frustration and a very tense moment.

It seems the more clutter in the backgrounds the better the story with every detail adding more narrative.

Ray is sat on the toilet floor and the door frame also frames the picture which ordinarily would have been in portrait format.  This one is in landscape format and instantly cuts off any view above Rays head.  It feels as though Ray is stuck down there.  There is no space to stand up into.  This is a true representation of Rays state at that time.  He couldn’t have stood up either as being an alcoholic we can assume he was too intoxicated.  This photograph tells that story perfectly.

I feel inspired to look through the photos I took as a child and teenager to see if I give an insight into true family life within our household.  Before I do, I’m guessing, my photos are all of happy smiling family members in an average house, with average furniture and nothing really to stand out from the norm.  I had my first camera at the age of 9 but only really recorded special days, special visitors and days out.  What a shame it didn’t occur to me to photograph life like Richard Billingham.

Leave a comment